Blogging in Food

Food has always been a passion of mine since I was a kid. I come from a big Italian family whose food has always been big and wonderful. I like to eat, simple enough. I have worked in the restaurant kitchen since I was 15 years old and have created many menu items. Even from the beginning, I have enjoyed every moment of cooking.

Today I will be talking about the blog website, “Butter Me Up, Brooklyn!,” a food blog describing how to make certain deserts and fast and easy treats. The writing style used in this blog was unusual and I have never seen before. Usually a food website only talks about how to make a certain product. In this blog, the writer mentions his background, the meaning of the food to him, how to make the food and why he made the food. Here’s a sneak peek from the first sentence of the blog.

“I grew up with an apple tree in my backyard and every fall, without a doubt, the branches would hang heavy with fruit. We would harvest more apples then we could eat and several times during the months of September and October my mom would set aside a weekend for making and canning dozens of jars of homemade applesauce.” -Jacques Pepin

I really enjoyed reading this blog because he brings the essence of the food and puts it into his own words. He takes the background of food and makes it a part of his story. After reading this blog, I actually subscribed to it. I plan on reading this blog more often and trying new deserts and exploring new food ideas. I hope to learn a new style of cooking and to really appreciate the background of food.

Leave a Reply

